PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Unable to connect to wired access

ArchieBunker
May 1st, 2009, 03:50 AM
I'm new to Ubuntu and Linux in general, but I like learning new things and I'm not going to give up on this. I switched over from Windows, because I really like MythTV. So I built a new machine and installed Mythbuntu 8.10 (I assume it's the same Ubuntu version). At any rate, I'm at a dead end trying to get network connection. When I had Windows installed, I just plugged in the ethernet cable and it worked, but I haven't had the same luck with Ubuntu.

I've been through the message boards and tried a few different things. I found the jamesonwilliams script fix, but that didn't work...or I didn't execute it properly. At any rate, here's some of my info:

Lan Chipset: Realtek 8111C

lspci | grep Ethernet
Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 02)

uname -mro
2.6.27-7-generic i686 GNU/Linux

I would be glad to provide any other information that would help. Thanks!

mousestalker
May 1st, 2009, 11:35 AM
Have you tried disabling "Wake on LAN" in your computer's bios?

Butthead
May 1st, 2009, 07:02 PM
Try running the "Recovery" option in the Grub menu and have it fix any broken packages.

Seems to have worked in my case.

Butthead
May 2nd, 2009, 01:52 AM
Disregard. Mine is not working again either. :(

eworthy
May 2nd, 2009, 02:03 AM
Yep same here. Wired network was working fine in this inspiron 2200 but died upon doing a "distribution upgrade" 9.04. Wireless is working.
I can't believe with the testing and maturity of Ubuntu that this has happened.

eworthy
May 2nd, 2009, 02:48 AM
my bad. wired only said it wasn't working. In fact there was a DHCP error which I caused :( which was the problem. It still says "not managed" but it is working fine.

ArchieBunker
May 2nd, 2009, 05:11 AM