PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] using the shell: necessity?

ppb7
April 30th, 2009, 02:22 PM
i read recently that
even on the most user-friendly Linux distributions, the command line is still required.Now, if i decide to switch to Linux it will only be because I have been persuaded that ALL its features make it an OS superior to Windows.
So, what's the advantage of using the command line:?:? Why should I learn shell commands? I am not a newbie at programming as i have played with PHP, ASP and Visual Basic (don't ask me to teach you, though :!::smile:)

halitech
April 30th, 2009, 02:33 PM
in day to day use, no you won't need to use the command line. If you have issues and come here to get help, you will probably get commands to type in as opposed to what programs to open as it is easier to give a command then explain what to open and what to click on.

Menschenfresser
April 30th, 2009, 02:34 PM
The thing is that not all things can be configured through a GUI. However many of them would fall in the "advanced" category (starting/stopping your database, adding something to cron,etc.).

You can also argue it is faster (if you already know!) to type command A than to go to menu a > program b > option c

And another thing is that you can ssh into the machine and do/fix what you wanted to do (useful when troubleshooting another machine.

Simian Man
April 30th, 2009, 02:42 PM
It's never necessary unless you have crap to fix. Unfortunately because many hardware manufacturers and software developers don't support Linux, there often times *is* crap to fix. And one reason Linux has small market share - and thus little commercial support - is because users must sometimes use the command line to fix crap. It's a vicious cycle :(. But in an ideal world where all your hardware works and you don't need to run non-native software, you would not need the command line.