PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Removing previous Ubuntu installation from external USB hard drive

KarenAK
April 30th, 2009, 01:15 PM
On my first attempt at installing Ubuntu - as a dual boot - on my laptop, i forgot to disconnect the external hard drives and it installed itself on one of them.

Now that I have Ubuntu installed on the internal hard drive (bye-bye Vista) I would like to get rid of that old installation.

So, what with me being a linux newbie, I thought I had better ask how to go about removing this partition - if at all possible without losing the data on the other partition of that hard drive.

Can somebody supply me with a newbie-friendly step-by-step help on this ?

Any help is much appreciated.

taurus
April 30th, 2009, 01:40 PM
If you want to erase Ubuntu from the external drive, you can use gparted (install it if you don't have one in System -> Administration -> Partition Editor) and delete all the partitions on that external drive. You probably have to unmount the swap partition first (if you see a double-key in front of it) before you can delete it. Then, format it to whatever filesystem you want to use for the external drive.

starcannon
April 30th, 2009, 01:53 PM
I like the gparted tool for this sort of job; you can get it one of 2 ways:

Command Line

Open a Terminal
Applications>Accessories>Terminal
Type:
sudo apt-get install gparted
enter your password when requested, its blind so don't worry that you can't see any typing, its working just press enter when complete.

GUI

Open Synaptic Package Manager
System>Administration>Synaptic Package Manager
Search for gparted
Tick its box
Click Apply
Click Apply again.

Okay the tool is in place, and you can find it in System>Administration>Partition Editor
It is very important to select the correct device that you want to format, in the case of USB drives, it is often /dev/sdb* and the internal drive is often /dev/sda*.