PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Acer Aspire One 150L wireless connect-disconnect loop

rotor_of_the_internet
April 30th, 2009, 12:53 PM
I'm new to Linux. I just decided to install the latest Ubuntu Remix on my Netbook (Acer Aspire One 150L). I don't have any experience setting up wireless networks.

My problem is that my wireless connection keeps disconnecting as soon as it has connected.

I enabled my wireless connection in my modem's web interface and I set up the details (SSID, BSSID and password). It seems to establish a connection without any errors but I don't think it truly connects to the modem.

I noticed other Aspire One users blacklisting acer_wmi, but that didn't seem to change anything for me.

Can anyone help me to identify what's going on?

duanedesign
September 25th, 2009, 10:25 PM
I am pretty sure your laptop has the AR242x. You can confirm this by running this command in a Terminal.
Applications > Accessories > Terminal

lspci -vnn

you should see something like this:

03:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Atheros Communications Inc. AR242x 802.11abg Wireless PCI Express Adapter [168c:001c] (rev 01)

If that is correct you should be using the Ath5k driver. To confirm this you should see in the same stanza as the information above two lines like this:

Kernel driver in use: ath5k
Kernel modules: ath5k

This particular card is not easy to get working. Some have had better luck than others so I dont want to discourage you from trying.
To try the latest ath5k driver run the following in the Terminal:

sudo apt-get install linux-backports-modules-jaunty

also make sure the ath_pci is blacklisted

sudo nano /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf
NOTE: your file may or may not have .conf on the end. if you do not find this file try /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist. If this is the case after you are done with it save it with .conf on the end, this is the preferred format.

Look for a line in the file like the one below. If it is not there add it and save the file: