PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] ubuntu as an application server - what way to go?

pepeantonio1
April 30th, 2009, 04:14 AM
Hi there,
I recently joined this community and I'm already impressed with the help provided by Ubuntu supporters. Thank you very much!
I'm fairly new to Linux as well so please go easy on me. I've installed and used Ubuntu desktop and I recently installed a Hardy Server Edition to basically provide shares, shared printer capabilities and other centralized services like VPN and Web filtering.

Now I want to extend the capabilities of this installation by allowing Windows users (domain or not) to connect to the box using FreeNX or any other solution (I'm not attached to any) and let them run applications on the server such as GNUCash, Firefox, Evolution etc.

Through reading a lot of posts I have got the impression that setting GUI on the server is not a good idea. Also it is confusing to me if by setting users and groups using eBox, those users will be able to log in to the Ubuntu server and run any of the mentioned applications.

So I think what I need is a little guidance from the experts on which way to go. Is it better to add GUI to the server so users can run installed applications or should I use for that purpose a full desktop install and beef it up with server capabilities? Or neither? In any case, how do the user's accounts must be set up to allow them to run the applications remotely and also have their application data saved in their home folders in the Linux box?

I don't really specifics instructions, just a little bit of guidance. My goal is to have an application server where more than 2 Windows users can log in and run those applications.

Thanks and keep the good work!!!
Pepe.

pepeantonio1
May 1st, 2009, 08:16 PM
OK,