PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help manualy partition

rreyes1316
April 30th, 2009, 03:25 AM
As a newbie I am just starting to grasp the Ubuntu environment. I dual booted, tested ubuntu, created a remastersys iso, and tested it out on another drive--I am now ready to reinstall on my WD Raptor 150. But how do I install on an ext4? I used gParted and formated my test drive to ext4. When I went to reinstall my remastersys image I could not figure out the Manual partition nor understand how to set a root or swap partition. I was completely confused. When I defaulted to Chose "Use entire disk" it created an ext3 and installed everything on that instead.

Can I get a "hand-over-hand" guidance for this "Ubuntu Dummy".

Thanks

udippel
April 30th, 2009, 03:40 AM
As a newbie I am just starting to grasp the Ubuntu environment.
[...]
I was completely confused. When I defaulted to Chose "Use entire disk" it created an ext3 and installed everything on that instead.

Can I get a "hand-over-hand" guidance for this "Ubuntu Dummy".

You don't sound like a 'dummy newbie', though!?

Actually, I don't know what you mean with 'remastersys iso'; so you can make out who the dummy actually is. ;)
But I managed to install ext4 easily, even with the Desktop version. In that step where the real dummies select 'whole disk', you need to click the lowermost tiny box for manual partitioning; and then you can set all partitions, mount points, and partition types (including ext4).

Uwe

rreyes3000
April 30th, 2009, 04:12 AM