PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can't install updates for Ubuntu 9.04 - "not enough space" message

Unew
April 30th, 2009, 01:57 AM
I'm a newbie @ Ubuntu / Linux and need a little help ... I can not install updates in Ubuntu 9.04. When I run Update Manager to update the system, I receive an error message stating that there is not enough disk space. I followed the directions in the error message, i.e., deleted the trash and ran the recommended command to cleanup the system, but neither step solved the disk space problem. I am dual booting Ubuntu on my Vista laptop. When I installed Ubuntu, I allowed the Ubunutu installer to automatically create the Ubuntu partitions (2.33 GB / 173 MB). Based on the error, it appears the Ubuntu installer did not create enough disk space for the Ubuntu operating system. I did not manually create the partition sizes. The laptop hard drive (160GB) has plenty of free space for both Vista & Ubuntu. How do I solve the problem I'm having in Ubuntu? How do I "resize" the partition for Ubuntu so I can update the system? Since I'm new @ Linux, I'd really appreciate the clearest and most detailed instructions. So far, I like Ubuntu, but I have to be able to update it to use it. Thanks in advance for your help and time.

lindsay7
April 30th, 2009, 02:21 AM
Download Gparted from their web site and burn the ISO image to a cd or dvd. It will boot up when you start your computer with the disk in your drive. You can repartition the drive with it. The site has all the support info you need.

Partyboi2
April 30th, 2009, 02:24 AM
Hi, if you have not already got unallocated space available on the hard drive to increase Ubuntu, boot into Vista and use the resize tool to shrink down the Vista partition so you are left with unallocated space.
http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows-vista/resize-a-partition-for-free-in-windows-vista/