PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] [Firmware Bug] powernow-k8: Your BIOS does not provide ACPI _PSS objects

ea185028
April 28th, 2009, 02:27 AM
[Firmware Bug] powernow-k8: Your BIOS does not provide ACPI _PSS objects in a way that Linux understands. Please report this to the Linux ACPI maintainers and complain to your bios vendor

My current System Configuration is:

Dual Vid Cards - GeForce 8600GT 680M 256MB DDR3 PCIEXXX
Motherboard - ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe
2x - OCZ 1GB DDR800

After installing Hardware Drivers for NVIDIA (180) it prompted me to restart.. So I did.

Then after that it gave me this error.

Is there anything I can do to get through this, or are there any fixes for this?

I'm a totally complete Ubuntu newbie so, detailed step by step instructions are very much appreciated.. Thank YOU

cariboo
April 28th, 2009, 03:11 AM
It's a problem with the BIOS, I have the same problem, I went through trying to repair the problem with one of the kernel devs, in the end the only solution was to update the bios and complain to my motherboard manufacturer. I still have the problem, but except for waiting an extra second for the message to display every thing works as it should.

I suggest you do a bios update.

Omega_Spectral
April 30th, 2009, 05:03 PM
same problem over here. I installed the "latest" bios from ASUS (idiots) and still no fix

kulight
June 1st, 2009, 02:29 PM
i have the same issue with an msi board...

mkramer
July 3rd, 2009, 05:50 PM
Same issue here. Asus M2N SLI Deluxe. I upgraded to the latest BIOS from their website. (1701). Ubuntu 7 and 8 worked great. The ubuntu 9 live CD doesn't work at all (install, live trial, and disc verify give the same error).

Considering that 7 and 8 work, is it certainly a firmware error?

RJARRRPCGP
July 3rd, 2009, 05:54 PM
This looks like the kernel may be broken!

Because that shall never occur with a motherboard that was out before 9.04!

And I don't have this problem with my Asus P5QL Pro.