PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] (initramfs) Prompt with 8.10 and 9.04 Upgrade

nixguru
April 27th, 2009, 06:08 PM
Before anyone says this is the same error as in other posts, the circumstances may be somewhat different. Also, just so people know my technical level, I am a lead linux/unix administrator and have cross-compiled linux from scratch for embedded systems and such.

After upgrading from Ubuntu 8.04 (worked good) to 8.10 on my father's PC, using the provided kernel, I was getting dropped to the (initramfs) prompt on boot complaining about the UUID not being found. Booting using the old kernel worked fine. I decided maybe it was a fluke with the version of the kernel, and decided to make the leap to 9.04, since that was my goal anyway. Same thing with 9.04.

Apparently the IDE disk devices are not showing up under /dev. sdXX, hdXX, etc, are not there. Nor is the path for accessing file systems by UUID. It is as if the kernel module necessary for accessing the IDE devices is not present in the newer kernels. This is a slightly older system with an XP1800+ and no SATA. No RAID or anything setup here.

While I have him running to some extent with the old kernel from 8.04, this is not how I want to leave him. I had read many posts from varios people with similar issues, but all seemed to have a different root cause.

Things I have tried:

1. Tried pathing root= to /dev/sdb1 (his boot partition) rather than UUID, but this was before I realized it didn't see the disk at all.
2. Setting rootdelay=60 in grub.
3. Installing the server version of the Ubuntu linux kernel, as someone suggested worked for them. This didn't help.
4. Installed additional kernel module packages, after which the initrd image was recreated. Didn't help.