PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Whats the Best Distro for my old PC

Lordships
April 27th, 2009, 03:39 PM
Hi, I am new on the forums but I have been working with Ubuntu for about 2 years now. I recently was asked to find a Distro for this Machine.

Laptop
Processor - 700 MHZ
RAM - 128 MB
HD Space - 12 GB
USB Wireless (I can get this to work in Ubuntu and Ubuntu off shoots.)

I know I saw a thread somewhere about choosing a distro but I have been unable to track it down again. What I am looking for for this PC is:

-User friendliness (Its for a life long Windows user)
-Easy install of games and misc programs for a window user.
*Basic Games like solitaire and mines, maybe Starcraft at the best (Edit)
-Attractiveness
-Speed

This machine is for the conversion of a life long Windows user. I have tried:
-Ubuntu 8.04 (which resulted in the PC having a heart attack.)
-MoonOS (Which seems to be sortof working but its just barely below what I was looking for in speed.)

FYI Its already maxed out for RAM.
I know it will probobly be hard to find an OS but either way anything is better than Windows Me. (The previous OS)

Starting a List of suggestions:

Xubuntu
Puppy Linux
Fluxbuntu
Ubuntu server edition (With a light window manager)
DSL
Elive

Starting a List of Attempted:

Ubuntu 8.10
-Failed
Ubuntu 8.04
-Failed
MoonOS
-Runs with Massive lag when you start apps.

apparle
April 27th, 2009, 03:54 PM
I am not sure but try
http://xubuntu.com/get
What games do you expect on 128MB RAM.........Card games or snake or something like that??

Lordships
April 27th, 2009, 04:02 PM
Sorry should have clarified that, Yeah just basic games such as:

-Solitaire
-Mines
-Some online flash games.

Stuff like that

Simian Man
April 27th, 2009, 04:04 PM
Don't get Xubuntu, it isn't much faster than standard Ubuntu. I'd recommend Puppy Linux for that thing.

benj1
April 27th, 2009, 04:07 PM