PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Semi-Frustrated New User Needs Some Help! ^_^

Ripp_Steakface
April 27th, 2009, 01:27 AM
Hello everyone. I just posted a bit ago about a trackpad issue I'm having where it causes the cursor to jump horizontally when you put your finger down onto it. I decided to make a new thread for a few other issues I'm having. I'm new to Linux, so if I have to use Terminal commands, be gentle please :) First, my PC's specs:

Eee PC 900HA
160GB hard drive
1.6GHz Intel Atom
Dual-booting Ubuntu 9.04 Netbook Remix and Windows XP

1. The sound is really low, and I have everything turned up to max. I've tried installing eee-controls, but the Terminal command doesn't want to download it. I'm not sure if this would fix the problem or not.

2. I have two versions of Java - 5 and 6. I had to install them to get some Airport controls to work in Terminal (I was having network issues between Ubuntu and my Apple Airport Extreme base station). I have since worked out the kinks without having to use the Airport controls, but I had previously made Java 5 my default. I tried to make Java 6 my default now, but this brings me to my next issue...

3. Videos barely play in Firefox. I went to view a YouTube video and I was prompted with downloading a codec to play the video. I installed it, but the videos only display a frame every 10 seconds; the sound, however, is fine, but too low volume (see issue 1).In addition, videos don't just display - a large ( I> ) icon is over it, and I click that to display the video, which I must then click the Play icon. The fan on this little netbook flips into high gear as well. This seems really odd because I have no trouble viewing videos in Windows - it isn't the hardware. I have since removed the codecs that were installed. Still the same issue.