PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to go back to XP

Pilot_Neil
April 26th, 2009, 05:23 PM
I had a hard disk with XP on but decided to install Ubuntu. I am a noob with Linux so no idea what I was doing.

Basically I want to put XP back but when I boot into the XP install it says I have no hard disks installed! Well I must have because I can boot into Ubuntu.

How can I get back to XP? I read on MS Support that if I have a linux boot disk I can run fdisk and delete linux boot records etc which will get my disk back. This all sounds great but where do I get a Linux boot disk with fdisk on it? I've done some searching around and theere seems to be too many options and I have no idea what to use..

Can someone help me? My computer is as good as dead at the moment :(

Thanks.

OpenSourceFuture
April 26th, 2009, 05:30 PM
Reformat the Linux partition(s) to FAT32 and they will be viewable when you boot to windows.

Stavro
April 26th, 2009, 05:34 PM
You say you are new and don’t really know what you did, so based upon that I would ignore the previous advice completely. At this time, you don’t want to format anything, it may not be a solution at all.

When you boot the computer, do you have a menu that gives you the choice of using Windows XP or Ubuntu? By default, Ubuntu is at the top, you will be looking at the end of the list, probably the last entry for Windows XP.

Pilot_Neil
April 26th, 2009, 05:41 PM
I don't get a menu it just goes straight to Ubuntu unless I boot from CD to the XP install. So its like XP does not exists at all any more.

Sub101
April 26th, 2009, 05:43 PM
Do you know if you installed Ubuntu onto a partition on the whole disk?

Can you see any files from the XP installation?

Stavro
April 26th, 2009, 05:44 PM