PDA

View Full Version : New to Python (And Programming) need some help

RichardLinx
April 25th, 2009, 03:17 PM
Hello, I started learning Python about an hour ago (sort of) and I'm having some trouble with the very basics. I wrote this program while following a tutorial:

# Filename : var.py

i = 5
print i
1 = 1 +1
print i

s = '''This is a multi-line string.
This is the second line.'''
print s

I saved it as "var.py" in a folder called "Python" which is located on my desktop. When I try to run the program I get this error message:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "<stdin>", line 1, in <module>
NameError: name 'var' is not defined
>>>

I figure I've done something wrong or I'm not doing something I'm supposed to be doing. I'm a complete beginner though and am at a loss. I took a screen shot to if it will be of any help to you, to help me. :)

[img=http://img528.imageshack.us/img528/8725/pythonhelp.th.jpg] (http://img528.imageshack.us/my.php?image=pythonhelp.jpg)

Cheers!

poisonkiller
April 25th, 2009, 03:24 PM
If you want to run a program with Python, you have to write "python file.py" (without quotes) into Terminal.

simeon87
April 25th, 2009, 03:25 PM
You need to run with the following command:

python var.py

RichardLinx
April 25th, 2009, 03:46 PM
Thanks guys! I got the output:
[Richard@localhost ~]$ python var.py
File "var.py", line 5
1 = 1 +1
SyntaxError: can't assign to literal

Which is something, finally! It's late now so I'll get back to this tomorrow. Thanks again! :)

Nevon
April 25th, 2009, 04:28 PM
File "var.py", line 5
1 = 1 +1
SyntaxError: can't assign to literal
[/code]

What is it that you're trying to accomplish here? 1 equals 1 plus 1 doesn't really make any sense.

Volt9000
April 25th, 2009, 04:32 PM
Based on the context of the program, I think that maybe the line

1 = 1 +1

Should be

i = i + 1

amingv
April 25th, 2009, 04:33 PM
Check the tutorial example again, I think what you must write is:

i = 5
print i