PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] dual-boot GRUB overwritten; cannot boot Windows

corsinnema
April 25th, 2009, 11:37 AM
Previously I had changed the order of my dual-boot GRUB menu so that XP would load by default.
When I upgraded Intrepid to Jaunty, this GRUB menu got replaced with a single-boot menu. The windows partitions still exist and can even be mounted.
Is it possible to restore dual-boot by adding some lines to the new GRUB menu? If so, what do I put?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Bauldronius
April 25th, 2009, 12:33 PM
I am a noob in ubuntu but i think this will help
open terminal and type sudo gedit /boot/grub/menu.lst
there you will see a example looking like this
# title Windows 95/98/NT/2000
# root (hd0,0)
# makeactive
# chainloader +1
copy it to the end of the document "without #" where there is the boot menu list
next you will need to find out what to type here: root (hd0,0) so open a new terminal and type sudo fdisk -l and you will get a list looking like this:
Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 1 3647 29294496 5 Extended
/dev/sda2 * 3648 19458 126994432 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda5 1 486 3903732 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda6 487 3647 25390701 83 Linux
for example this is my windows partition:
/dev/sda2 * 3648 19458 126994432 7 HPFS/NTFS
sda2 means (hd0,1) sda1 means (0,0) etc
so what you should end up should look like this in the grub menu file
title Windows 95/98/NT/2000
root (hd0,1)
makeactive
chainloader +1

zeex
April 25th, 2009, 01:02 PM
Previously I had changed the order of my dual-boot GRUB menu so that XP would load by default.
When I upgraded Intrepid to Jaunty, this GRUB menu got replaced with a single-boot menu. The windows partitions still exist and can even be mounted.
Is it possible to restore dual-boot by adding some lines to the new GRUB menu? If so, what do I put?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

updating menu.lst will work but if you want another approach.