PDA

View Full Version : My dilemma.

YourSurrogateGod
January 7th, 2006, 03:43 AM
Ok, I've fallen in love with Linux (Ubuntu specifically.) Imo it's the greatest and most stable operating system out there (keep the Unix nuts at bay, I don't want to start a flame-war.) However! What about getting a job? Looking at the different jobs offered out there, most of them require working Windows in a very involving way (not looking for a flame-war.) I'm a developer (well, CS student at the moment) by the way and you don't get that many opportunities out there to develop software in Linux and actually get paid for it (I like money.)

So what would you do? Would you go back to Windows in order to stand a chance at nailing a job out there so that you could get stuff or stick to an ideal that may or may not pay the bills?

P.S.: Yes, I know that there are opportunities out there to make money off of open source, but like I said I'm just starting out and as such it would be exceedingly difficult to land a job at a company doing development on a Linux box.

poofyhairguy
January 7th, 2006, 03:48 AM
So what would you do? Would you go back to Windows in order to stand a chance at nailing a job out there so that you could get stuff or stick to an ideal that may or may not pay the bills?

I would go back to Windows. There is nothing wrong with being a Dr. Jeckel and Mr. Hide- the evil Linux side can come out at night at your home.

Personally this nerd is running away from programming. My cousin recently lost a really good job developing software for HP and it was a wake-up call for me. Was she a bad worker? Did she make a huge mistake? No....her job got outsourced. I decided I cannot compete against people in places that can live on a percentage of what I can.

So next year I plan to go to law school. I will study IP law- I will specialize in open source and GNU licences. That is a job that can't be outsourced.....and I can have a job related to Linux.

mstlyevil