PDA

View Full Version : Needs Guidance as a Beginner

shackled_boY
April 25th, 2009, 02:47 AM
I believe I have some little experience with HTML as a start, but I cannot determine whether this will be useful or resourceful in learning a totally new programming language such as Delphi, Python, Perl, Java, C#/C++/C, PHP, Fortran, Eda, BASIC or equivalent.

In the future I would like to be able to design a perfectly working Kernel (OS) of my own. To design my own working operating system, which language would I be required to master? Shall it be a combination of a few from the above list I have written? Or may it be solely a C-based programming language?

I have attempted to try and learn Perl for a while and it seemed quite hassle-free and easier to learn then Java.

I do not know the exactitude of these programming languages' specific functions, so I would like somebody to helpfully suggest one that is extensive (that I could create both applications and OS).

Many thanks with all respect in advance to the contributors of this very topic.

shadylookin
April 25th, 2009, 03:25 AM
I believe I have some little experience with HTML as a start, but I cannot determine whether this will be useful or resourceful in learning a totally new programming language such as Delphi, Python, Perl, Java, C#/C++/C, PHP, Fortran, Eda, BASIC or equivalent.

html isn't really helpful since it's just markup language

In the future I would like to be able to design a perfectly working Kernel (OS) of my own. To design my own working operating system, which language would I be required to master? Shall it be a combination of a few from the above list I have written? Or may it be solely a C-based programming language?

you would probably do it in c or c++ though there are other alternatives

I have attempted to try and learn Perl for a while and it seemed quite hassle-free and easier to learn then Java.