PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 9.04 ati driver install problem

hedehodo
April 24th, 2009, 08:35 PM
i am kind of a newbie. but i can take i instructions well :) in ubuntu 9.04 i saw the option in add/remove packages to add the ati driver and catalyst control panel packages to ubuntu as i have x550 ati card i added those. it gave no errors in the adding. but when i restarted all i got was this corrupt screen. i think i just want to be able to rever back to the original for starters. how can i do that?
thanks for the guidance..

hedehodo
April 24th, 2009, 08:41 PM
i think i forgot to add that i am using a live usb disk with persistence..

Bateluer
April 24th, 2009, 09:14 PM
I've had this happen before, but cannot remember exactly how I resolved it. It required the configuration file for X to be rebuilt, x.conf.

Or you could turn off persisitance on the live USB disk.

necr0mancer
April 24th, 2009, 09:46 PM
I had the same problem, Im also new to linux. I have a ATI Radeon 4870x2 and i also did wat u did and my whole screen messed up. I had to re-install ubuntu... I dunno how to install new drivers for my gfx card on ubuntu. Any help?

LightningW
April 24th, 2009, 10:24 PM
I had the same problem (actually worst: very high lag, display settings frozing, no expanded desktop) with 4850 Toxic on 24" dual screens.
The solution is very simple. Just install the offical ATI display driver from amd.com but don't forget to deactive that bad thing before.

hedehodo
April 25th, 2009, 09:14 AM
"It required the configuration file for X to be rebuilt, x.conf."
how could i do that? i think i have to drop to terminal someway while the os is booting. but i dont know any keyboard shortcuts and any codes to do that?

gocek
April 25th, 2009, 09:42 AM
Well, although the driver doesn't work well for me, there's one thing I think you might be missing.

Try typing

sudo aticonfig --initial -f

just after installing the drivers, before reboot.