PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Tracker Applet error after upgrade to 9.04

leeds
April 24th, 2009, 07:10 PM
Just upgraded to 9.04, installation was smooth. Was indexing files in 8.10, however after upgrade getting the error "Traker - There was an error while performing indexing: Index corrupted" I have the option to reindex which I have already tried twice, same error comes back. I have disabled indexing. Please help (NB: I am new to Ubuntu).

mikex
April 24th, 2009, 07:47 PM
Just upgraded to 9.04, installation was smooth. Was indexing files in 8.10, however after upgrade getting the error "Traker - There was an error while performing indexing: Index corrupted" I have the option to reindex which I have already tried twice, same error comes back. I have disabled indexing. Please help (NB: I am new to Ubuntu).

Same exact thing here - I can't get it to work even when requesting a new index. Same message every bootup.

ivia77
April 24th, 2009, 07:55 PM
Same for me. I've tried Alt+F2 and run tracker-processes -r as suggested in the release notes (http://www.ubuntu.com/getubuntu/releasenotes/904#Tracker%20index%20corruption) but it gave me this error mesage

Error stating file '/home/matt/tracker-processes -r': No such file or directory

Jack Shankle
April 24th, 2009, 09:28 PM
I also have the same bug.
Everything else is working fine on a triple boot system.
I upgraded from 8.10 to 9.04 and I was using ext3 (I think)
on 8.10 and guess I am still using ext3 in 9.04. The upgrade
didn't ask anything about ext4.

mikex
April 24th, 2009, 10:27 PM
Found a solution that fixed it for me, here it is -

Found a workaround/fix that's more user friendly:

sudo apt-get install tracker-utils
tracker-processes -r # --hard-reset

Then I logged out and back in so the processes that I had previously killed by hand would restart in a normal fashion.

Note that this probably gets rid of data that would be useful in finding a fix for others, which is sad.