PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Acer Aspire One Ubuntu 8.4 install fixes

rachelgoodpeople
April 24th, 2009, 04:01 AM
Hi, my friend just installed ubuntu 8.4 on my acer aspire one, but now as I use it I am noticing things not working and was wondering if anyone could help me. I am new to ubuntu, but familiar with windows, so I know a little about computers. The problems I am encountering so far is my webcam is not working. It works with Skype but not on it's own. I wanted to download the Cheese app, but it is not listed in the program choices. Also, the photo card reader does not work at all. Nothing happens when I put the card in, and it is not listed in places>computer. If anyone can help me with these things, it would be awesome, and remeber I'm an ubuntu newbie! Thanks!

wightman.p
April 24th, 2009, 05:59 AM
Try

sudo modprobe tifm_core
sudo modprobe tirm_sd

imagia
April 24th, 2009, 06:02 PM
You might be better off trying a distro that has already been modified for the Aspire One. It will save you time getting the hardware all working.

Have a look at Linux4One (http://www.linux4one.it) - I have it on my Aspire One and everything works out of the box - no fixing required. It's based on Ubuntu Hardy. This has Cheese included.

The new Ubuntu Netbook Remix (http://www.ubuntu.com/getubuntu/download-netbook) released yesterday is supposed to work without problems. Well worth a look.

ddrichardson
April 24th, 2009, 06:05 PM
Like the above said, Ubuntu 9.04 Netbook Remix supports the Acer Aspire One, I'm using it now and have been since the first USB image was released.

akoblentz
April 24th, 2009, 08:12 PM
Any idea if that Linux4One supports suspend/resume on lid close/open?

That and the hardware wifi button are the only things that don't work 100% on my Aspire One D150 with jaunty.

ddrichardson
April 24th, 2009, 08:15 PM

That and the hardware wifi button are the only things that don't work 100% on my Aspire One D150 with jaunty.