PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Jaunty serious install problem/s

dougalkerr
April 23rd, 2009, 11:56 PM
I am still new to Linux but, after buying a new laptop and installing Ubuntu 8.10 64 bit and upgrading as and when available I had a lovely almost fully functional system with Cyberlink PowerDVD not running through Wine properly being the only thing that was letting my experience down as I can't watch any commercial DVDs. Small price to pay for something that is otherwise very nice to look at and use, with Compiz fully operational adding to the good experience.
So, now for the down side. Updates were available tonight with the offer of upgrading to Jaunty. I proceeded (no fear) and the files were downloaded. The system just seemed to sit there after the files were downloaded with no signs of installs taking place after half an hour. So I rebooted. The updates notification icon was showing and I proceeded with a warning that a partial upgrade was a choice. I continued and the system finished downloading one further file out of the 782 files if I remember correctly. So there was a message displayed before I could conti nue saying it was "imperative to run liloconfig and execute cd /sbin/lilo after liliconfig" or lilo wouldn't work.
If memory serves me well Lilo is a boot menu similar to Grub - yes?
So, I click the forward button (only other option is to cancel).
The upgrade to Jaunty continues and the system reboot is required.
Well Grub shows the boot list as before - I choose my last Ubuntu configuration and the Ubuntu splash screen shows with the animated bar and after about 20 seconds or so I get the following displayed;

Boot from (hd0,5) ext3 4c3133d3-2953-47fb-b4b8-4076a6bf3f07
Starting up ...
Loading please wait ...
Gave up waiting for root device. Common problems:
-Boot args (cat /proc/cmdline)
-Check rootdelay= (did the system wait long enough?)
-Check root= (did the system wait for the root device?)
-Missing modules (cat /proc/modules; ls /dev)