PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Problem with Sound

pmla_dailha
April 23rd, 2009, 08:09 PM
Hello everybody!
I hope someone can help me.
As absolute beginner I'm trying to use Ubuntu mainly to surf the Internet and to listen to my music collection. I use every now and again OpenOffice.
But Jaunty does not want me to have a peaceful life.
Mainly when I'm listening mp3, lastfm or watching a movie, the sound becomes very slow until I restart my system. I've tried everything, from reinstalling all packages that I found searching for mp3 or codecs in the Synaptic Package Manager, to using different mp3-players (Amarok, Rhytmbox, Songbird) and movie-players (Mplayer, Movie Player, Totem)...
The beta version of Jaunty was already problematic, therefore I was using till today Intrepid. But I wanted to try again and upgraded my system. Result: I cannot listen my music or watch a movie.
But the worst is that I cannot boot with my LiveCD (Intrepid). I have no idea why, but when I configure my laptop to boot from CD, it springs directly in grub and I have to use Jaunty.
So, I believe nobody has such a problem with his machine and because of that I'm writing.
Can anyone help me and recommend what I should do either to get Jaunty working or to downgrade (or fresh install) Intrepid?

Appendices:

$ cat /proc/asound/cards
0 [IXP ]: ATIIXP - ATI IXP
ATI IXP rev 2 with ALC250 at 0xc0003400, irq 17
1 [Modem ]: ATIIXP-MODEM - ATI IXP Modem
ATI IXP Modem rev 2 at 0xc0003800, irq 17

$ lspci | grep -i audio
00:14.5 Multimedia audio controller: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 02)

$ lsusb
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 1267:0210 Logic3 / SpectraVideo plc
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 005: ID 03f0:5c11 Hewlett-Packard Photosmart C4200 Printer series
Bus 003 Device 004: ID 0dda:6010 Integrated Circuit Solution, Inc.
Bus 003 Device 002: ID 05e3:0605 Genesys Logic, Inc. USB 2.0 Hub [ednet]