PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Please help! Ubuntu 9.04 display not working

necr0mancer
April 23rd, 2009, 05:46 PM
Hi all, let me first start by saying im a complete noob with linux, i just started learning it today, I download Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope Final today and installed it. Everything was fine until I started doing updates which ubuntu kept asking me to do. So i started doing the updates, and when i got to the ATI/AMD driver, i installed it (I have a radeon hd4870x2) then it asked me to restart my computer which i did, and now all of a sudden i have no display. It's all messed up and i cannot see or do anything. Is there a way for me to re roll to the previous driver and fix up my ubuntu properly. Dont forget, im a complete noob, so I dont know the commands, im assuming i would have to go to the recovery options and then to the command line console and type in something there to restore my drivers. Does any1 know how to fix this? Please help.

Johan de Jong
April 24th, 2009, 05:06 PM
1. Reboot your computer and at the GRUB boot menu, choose 'recovery mode'. The system loads and you will be dropped at the prompt as root. For the next steps, make sure you are online (check this by entering 'ping www.google.com (http://www.google.com) -c5', control+C)

2. Use the apt-tool by entering:
apt-get remove --purge fglrx*
apt-get remove --purge xserver-xorg-video-ati
apt-get remove --purge xserver-xorg-video-radeon
apt-get install xserver-xorg-video-ati
apt-get install --reinstall libgl1-mesa-glx libgl1-mesa-dri

In any case that works for me (also an owner of the ATI Radeon HD4870X2).

rtlong
April 27th, 2009, 07:44 AM
1. Reboot your computer and at the GRUB boot menu, choose 'recovery mode'. The system loads and you will be dropped at the prompt as root. For the next steps, make sure you are online (check this by entering 'ping www.google.com (http://www.google.com) -c5', control+C)

2. Use the apt-tool by entering:
apt-get remove --purge fglrx*