PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installation problems v8.10

foley
April 22nd, 2009, 11:00 PM
Hello there, I am new to Linux/Ubuntu and am thus at your mercy :)

I ahve a fairly new netbook from dell with an atom processor. When I purchased it, they gave me an option of either vista or ubuntu and I chose the former. Unfortunately, even the basic home of Vista runs so slowly on the netbook that it is not even worth using so I decided to switch.

I bought an Ubuntu DVD from amazon, version 8.10 and began the installation process...from the DVD.

The initial process works well, it let's me get to the language selection screen and then gives me options to either "try Ubuntu without changing system" or "Install Ubuntu"

I have tried both of these options and each time after it seems to be "installing"...the next screen is a DOS-like screen with a root command at the bottom: "ubuntu@ubuntu_$"

there is no GUI...

Has anyone run into this problem before? Is there a solution? Am I doing something wrong?

Thanks a lot for your help in advance.

5nak3
April 22nd, 2009, 11:13 PM
I have no experience in what is happening, however, if I was to hazard a guess I would assume, the disk is throwing you into the alternative install method.

Probably due to the lack of power from the netbook, it is likely decided you are best suited to installing via terminal.

I would suggest to Google "ubuntu alternative install step by step" or something similar see if this throws up anything of use, alternatively wait until someone with more experience can help.

Best of luck!

foley
April 22nd, 2009, 11:27 PM
Thanks for the reply. You may be right, although it is somewhat doubtful given that this very netbook (I have the Inspiron mini 12) was offered from Dell with Ubuntu..silly me just chose Vista.

The hardware should be fine...

5nak3
April 22nd, 2009, 11:34 PM