PDA

View Full Version : License for an open-source project

adamitj
April 22nd, 2009, 05:03 PM
I am a newbie when talking about licenses. I read the terms and conditions of GPL, LGPL and some others licenses, and I still need help to understand which one is the best for my needs.

Months ago, I started a new project in Java/AJAX/DHTML to create web pages dynamically. The company I work for is now very interested in this project, so I need to put it on a license because I will be paid to maintain and add new features in the project if we can have a deal.

So, the terms and conditions I need are:

1) The source code is hidden to everyone (until it becomes mature and stable I will left it this way. Then I'll create an open-source "branch" with a BSD license);
2) Everyone can use the binaries for free, except for commercial purposes (these one must acquire a license);
3) Everyone can distribute the binaries respecting the items #1 and #2;

Is there a license which contains the terms above?

cb951303
April 22nd, 2009, 05:39 PM
I am a newbie when talking about licenses. I read the terms and conditions of GPL, LGPL and some others licenses, and I still need help to understand which one is the best for my needs.

Months ago, I started a new project in Java/AJAX/DHTML to create web pages dynamically. The company I work for is now very interested in this project, so I need to put it on a license because I will be paid to maintain and add new features in the project if we can have a deal.

1) The source code is hidden to everyone (until it becomes mature and stable I will left it this way. Then I'll create an open-source "branch" with a BSD license);
2) Everyone can use the binaries for free, except for commercial purposes (these one must acquire a license);

I think you need dual-licensing.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Commercial_open_source_applications
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dual-licensing

wmcbrine
April 23rd, 2009, 10:02 PM