PDA

View Full Version : Donate $20 to Canonical

johanan
April 22nd, 2009, 02:42 PM
I have been running Ubuntu since 8.10 (I had been running Debian testing first then unstable for about 4 years before that). I have upgraded my 4 installs to 9.04 Release Candidate and I love how easy and smooth Canonical makes Ubuntu.

Because of this I have donated $20 to Canonical. It only works out to be $5 per install, but I plan to donate $20 on every release hereafter. I feel that Ubuntu is well worth $40 a year. I know my donation doesn't make a big difference, but if there is a core group that will donate on every release we can make Canonical self sufficient.

Donate here: http://www.ubuntu.com/community/donations

Reply if you donate as well. :)

KhaaL
April 22nd, 2009, 02:47 PM
your donation does make a big difference :) Thanks for donating, I have only donated once to ubuntu but I try to donate at least once to every FOSS that I've used and been useful to me.

I've donated more money to FOSS than I've spent money buying copyrighted stuff... Phew!

wolfen69
April 22nd, 2009, 03:54 PM
if everyone donated even $2, developers would have no problems with money. please donate to your favorite project! i'm going to.

XubuRoxMySox
April 22nd, 2009, 05:58 PM
If purchases of Ubuntu "wearables" and gadgets and gizmos like the USB flash drive and hats and stuff count, that's how I have supported it up til now... but when times are better financially, I'll do more. It's the least I can do!

I hope Canonical makes a bit of a profit from the sale of those li'l gadgets and teeshirts and stuff. That's another way to say thanks.

-Robin

juancarlospaco
April 22nd, 2009, 06:06 PM
I don't use Credit Card, i use cash for work reasons, can't donate,
in the past i want to donate to Gimp, via Wire Transfer, but local Banks says thats not possible.
i want to buy something in Canonical's shop, but the same here...

BTW 1U$S=3,5$ arg.
From Argentina.

NJC
April 22nd, 2009, 06:17 PM