View Full Version : [ubuntu] Laptop fan turned on after suspend

April 20th, 2009, 11:56 PM

I'm a complete newbie to linux and ubuntu. I got fed up with Vista, I suppose Longhorn means you will grow one on your forehead from using it.

I have a HP 6735 S laptop.

So I went and replaced Vista with Ubuntu 8.10 (EDIT: Now upgraded to 9.04, see below), and so far it's been pretty excellent. Still, there have been a few problems: The laptop speakers didn't seem to work, I can't log in to my WPA2 encrypted wireless network, and last but not least, there seems to be some trouble with the cooling fan. I'll try to outline the problem for you:

Just generally surfing the internet I suddenly realized the laptop fan had been blowing full speed non stop for a long long time. I started searching the ubuntu forums for some help. I found some things to try:

the "acpi -V" command gives a proper reading of temp1, as opposed to some toshiba users reading 0.0c. Here's what it reads now:

Battery 0: Full, 100%
AC Adapter 0: on-line
Thermal 0: ok, 42.0 degrees C
Cooling 0: LCD 0 of 10
Cooling 1: Processor 0 of 3
Cooling 2: Fan 1 of 1
Cooling 3: Fan 0 of 1
Cooling 4: Fan 0 of 1
Cooling 5: Fan 0 of 1

And the cooling fan is blasting away. It does, apparently, feel that the processor fan cooling is at 0, wonder what this cooling 2 fan is?

Someone also said to modify my grub kernel boot options, adding "acpi_osi="Linux"" to the end of the "kopt"-line. I did this as well, rebooted and everything was fine, very quiet.