PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Yet another NOOB with problems.

Scott Mayham
April 20th, 2009, 05:45 PM
While I'm an experienced Windows IT guy, I'm a total newbie to Ubuntu. So, I thought I'd install it on an old PC and play with it in order to learn.

However, I ran into a bit of a problem.

The target box is an older HP desktop PC with a 1.6 ghz Celeron, 512 mb ram, 120 gb hard drive, and a CDROM drive. Video, network and sound hardware are all on the MoBo, and all *WERE* working fine under Windows XP. The moitor is a generic Plug-and-Play SVGA.

Using another PC (the one I'm typing on now) I downloaded the <ubuntu-8.10-desktop-i386.iso> distro from the Ubuntu website, confirmed a good MD5, burned a CD, booted it on the target, ran the self-check of the CD (it was fine), and then installed Ubuntu by selecting all defaults. For example, I chose to wipe the existing WindowsXP partition and let the Ubuntu installer do whatever it thought best.

After some time, the system rebooted, and the monitor would only display colorful "snow" - nothing intelligible. Apparently, the installer is somehow confused with regard to video settings.

So, my questions are as follows:

1. Is there reasonably straightforward way to analyze this problem? If not, see #2 below.
2. It seems that I've read of a text-based, more detailed way of installing Ubuntu. Would such a technique give me a chance to guide the installer with respect to video settings? Finally, would such a technique be possible using the distro I already have (ubuntu-8.10-desktop-i386.iso), or do I need to download another one, and if so, which one?

Thanks in advance,
Scott

abn91c
April 20th, 2009, 06:11 PM
you can try booting to recovery mode the run the xfix command, see if that helps. I found better to run the live cd first, that way you can test all the hardware then install from the desktop icon.