PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to save all data before a fresh install?

WE0H
April 19th, 2009, 08:53 PM
I would like to upgrade to the 9.04 version. I run 8.10 now. How do I save all emails & settings in Thunderbird, bookmarks in Firefox & all personal files that I have collected over the years? All I want is a fresh 9.04 install and to have my email, browser settings, and personal files saved to move over to the new 9.04 install. I only have a year experience on Linux so I am basically a newbie...LOL...

I have an external USB drive to move files onto.

Many thanks,
Mike

Svensk023
April 19th, 2009, 09:00 PM
well you will want to back up everything in your home folder.

But it avoid this nuisance, when you are partitioning your HDD on your Jaunty install. make sure to separate your primary partitions so that one is mounted at "/" and the other (with the majority of your HDD space) mounted at "/home" that way if you ever need to fresh install again, you will be able to save all your personal files and settings.

so for example if i had a 300Gb HDD, this is how id slice it up

Linux-Swap (make this twice the size of your RAM) so if you had 1Gb RAM make it a 2Gb Swap partition.
Primary ext4 (yay its supported in Jaunty!) mounted at / make this about 30-50Gb
Primary ext4 mounted /home give this the rest of your HDD space.

thats how I have my setup. There are other setups people use, but this one always suffices for me.

ales
April 19th, 2009, 09:03 PM
I would like to upgrade to the 9.04 version. I run 8.10 now. How do I save all emails & settings in Thunderbird, bookmarks in Firefox & all personal files that I have collected over the years? All I want is a fresh 9.04 install and to have my email, browser settings, and personal files saved to move over to the new 9.04 install. I only have a year experience on Linux so I am basically a newbie...LOL...

Many thanks,
Mike

Hello,