PDA

View Full Version : Advice on GUI platform

reizencroft
April 19th, 2009, 12:08 PM
Hi I'm a game programmer. Mostly, I program portable console games and some openGL stuff. I also had experience with Visual Basic 6.0 and a little on Visual Studio 2003(using MFC)(about 3 years ago). Aside from some console applications, I don't have any other programming experience with GUI stuffs.

I am planning to make some game tools which will be run primarily in Ubuntu and can be also run on different ditros and possibly windows, though portability to is optional. Can you give me advice on what platform can I develop my application? I'm considering wxwidgets, but I also want to consider other possible options. Portable is good, but I would prefer one that have good support with 3D rendering.

Thanks

simeon87
April 19th, 2009, 12:56 PM
If Ubuntu is your primary platform then GTK+ (http://www.gtk.org/) could also be an option (it's used for many applications). I don't have experience with OpenGL in Gtk but here's link: http://gtkglext.sourceforge.net/ (it's used in various projects: http://gtkglext.sourceforge.net/users).

samjh
April 19th, 2009, 01:52 PM
GTK+, Qt, and wxWidgets all support OpenGL.

Juding by your reference to MFC, I'm guessing your target language is C++.

GTK+ is written in C, although there are C++ bindings available for it (GTKmm). It is multi-platform, and attempts to emulate the look-and-feel of the native operating system by using various themes. It is very popular and has widespread support, although its documentation is relatively lacking (but steadily improving).