PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Install suggestions please...

EldiS82
April 19th, 2009, 09:13 AM
Ok, as I am a quite newbie in this Ubuntu world I would like to have few suggestions at one place about the best way to install Ubuntu to fit my preferences.
I know you will say, ok, why don't you use search function, or google... I did but there is a bunch of different solutions, different suggestions, and so on. And we all expect something else of our system...

So to start...

1. I would like to keep my XP (for now) as there is still no perfect solution for running windows software on Ubuntu. And I mainly think about Adobe software. Yeah I know it works on this or that way but it's still buggy...
So I would lke to know what is the best way to install Ubuntu and to keep XP? Should I install it on the same partition beside XP, and if I do that, how stable is it as they are using different filesystems (is it possible at all)? Or should I install it inside the Windows? Or should I create new partition for Ubuntu and make clear installations of Ubuntu and XP on different partitions?

2. As I have one system and two "data" partitions (D & E) for now (one empty, one full), what should I do with filesystems on them after I install Ubuntu, cause I see that Ubuntu is able to read from NTFS but nothing more. And I don't want to lose data from one of them cause it's full. So is it smart choice to leave that partition as NTFS and to convert this empty one into ext3? And if I do that how is it works. Windows is not gonna recognise that partition at all, right?

3. I actually have two hard disks [C & D] and [E], so if I chose to install Ubuntu and XP on different hard disks, will I be able to dual boot then?

So my main dilema are those filesystems and how to fit some space for Ubuntu and some for XP.

Any suggestions?

groovete
April 19th, 2009, 11:27 AM
Hi,

it isn't important on which drive you will install ubuntu, there just has to be enough space.