PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Will Jaunty have Java 1.5.0 in Repositories

mikodo
April 19th, 2009, 08:28 AM
Hello Everyone,

I would like to run JSword. Presently, the only way to use this Bible program in Linux is to have a version of Sun's Java (JDK 1.4 or higher) that will run it; not the gcj version of Java that is included in the Hardy distro that I use.The page from this link: http://www.crosswire.org/jsword/linuxjava.html explains how to obtain and install Java for Linux, which presumably will run JSword. As a newbie I am not comfortable attempting this work-up; Secondly for now, I would prefer to stick to repositories provided by Ubuntu.

Does anybody know if Jaunty or the next version is going to have the needed Java JDK 1.4 or higher (ie.1.5) in their repositories? I plan to stick with Hardy until I have become comfortable with Linux, but would consider Jaunty if I could have a good Bible program like JSword easily from it's repositories of newer Java releases.

(I hope I didn't write a lot of gobily-goop, that makes no sense to anyone).

Thank you

pspsampsp
April 19th, 2009, 09:02 AM
there is sun-java6-jre/jdk and sun-java5-jre/jdk in 8.10 (intrepid ibex) and 9.04 (jaunty jackalope) i think if you enable the multiverse repositories it should be available in 8.04. To enable them click system -> administration -> software sources and the option should be there.

mikodo
April 19th, 2009, 09:14 AM
Thank you for your response. What should I do once I am in Software sources?

Sef
April 19th, 2009, 09:24 AM
What should I do once I am in Software sources?

Easy to install java:

Applications > Add/Remove > Show: 'All Applications Available' > Search: Sun Java > click on the box next to what java you want > appy changes > apply > close.

mikodo
April 19th, 2009, 09:42 AM
Thank you;

OpenJDK Java Runtime
OpenJDK Java runtime, using Hotspot JIT
Full Java runtime environment - needed for executing Java GUI and Webstart programs. Using Hotspot JIT.