PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Short Freezes in Hardy

MercurySwitch
April 19th, 2009, 01:12 AM
I have been searching for solutions to this problem on the ubuntu forums and on google. If another thread exists please let me know.

I upgraded to Hardy Heron about one week ago. From the start every few minutes my computer freezes for about 1-5 seconds. My system resources monitor shows my cpu reaching 100% use spikes. I will remain connected to my network but the internet will stop, usually requiring I re-connect to my home network to get internet back. This problem occurs when I stop typing or using the mouse for a short period, but will happen every 5 minutes regardless of use. The freezes do not require me to reset or restart my computer, as most of the random freeze threads I've found discuss.

If there are contents of any files or processes that I should list, please include a description of how to obtain the information, as I'm pretty new to linux.

rucadulu
April 19th, 2009, 01:27 AM
If you can open a terminal window, it is under applications -> accessories. Then type in top, then do nothing on your pc and wait for the freeze to happen. When it happens hit printcreen and post the screen shot or write down the top four or five processes shown by top. Post this to this thread as this well help me determine what might be causing the problem.

MercurySwitch
April 22nd, 2009, 03:03 AM
Alright, after extensive testing it seems this problem occurs when firefox is running. I tested it for days as I know this problem has occurred outside of firefox before, but I believe I had been running firefox at least at one point during the sessions.

I am going to test with another browser shortly and see if it's solely firefox or any browser that leads to this problem.

rucadulu
April 22nd, 2009, 04:11 AM
Good to see you are isolating the problem, let me know what you discover.

MercurySwitch
April 22nd, 2009, 05:42 AM
Alright, the problem still occurs with epiphany.