View Full Version : [ubuntu] Bios Error, Laptop dead ??

April 18th, 2009, 05:14 PM
Hi guys,

I am new to Ubuntu. First I installed it on my main PC.
But I can not make it work completely so I went back to XP.

Now I am installing it on my 6 yrs old laptop. Something went wrong during it.

Installation went wrong because laptop shot off after sometime.
Now I am having weird problem.

Now when I start my PC it boot and stuck at black screen.
Only one line written on screen.

Thats it, nothing happens. Pressing any key not doing anything.

Now I can not even go back to XP installation and not even ubuntu.

Is my Laptop dead??

April 18th, 2009, 06:19 PM
This sounds like a problem with your BIOS. If you google "U1 BIOS" you'll find a few threads on other forums from people with the same problem. On one I found this:

U1 Bios is your bios maker. Universal Scientific Industrial (USI).... which doesn't help much.

Try googling "U1 BIOS" together with the make and model number of your laptop. You might be lucky and find a fix. What is the make and model?

Can you get into the BIOS at the POST screen to reset it? Another suggestion I found is to remove the CMOS battery and replace it. But not an easy job in a laptop, I fear.

April 19th, 2009, 12:20 PM
Thanks for reply.

Unfortunately I did google before posting here.
And no one has any solution for it any where.

I found few posts similar to my problem but never got any final solution.

I was hoping someone here can help.
I will folllow your suggestions, I might just open my laptop.

Because its dead anyway :(

April 19th, 2009, 12:30 PM
CMOS battery shouldn't stop it posting. If the CMOS battery was failing you would have noticed the laptop needing its time and date re-entered on boot.

April 19th, 2009, 12:35 PM
What's the make and model?

April 19th, 2009, 01:17 PM
it is HP ZE4125

I am about to open my laptop. Will update soon.

April 19th, 2009, 01:28 PM
I'd be inclined to swap out the memory first off.