PDA

View Full Version : Use Ubuntu without using terminal commands

naveensn
April 18th, 2009, 03:44 PM
I have been using Ubuntu for about 3-4 years now, and it always involved quite a bit of usage of terminal commands. Now I am trying to use Ubuntu without using any terminal commands for configuration. (Use terminal commands only for getting information For E.g glxinfo etc.). It's been 7 days so far. Has anybody else done this.?

swoll1980
April 18th, 2009, 03:49 PM
I think it's possible now, but I won't do it just because the terminal is so much easier when it come to certain things.

joshdudeha
April 18th, 2009, 03:55 PM
I prefer using the terminal for installing off apt-get, it seems easier and much quicker for me.

dragos240
April 18th, 2009, 03:59 PM
Yeah, I really like the terminal. Very nice.

jflaker
April 18th, 2009, 03:59 PM
I do upgrades with terminal as I have two systems

I ssh to the remote system and
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade -y

then when that is done I do the same on my system since I am already in terminal....

After you already did a command, all you need to do is tap the uparrow and you get the last commands typed and it is almost a no-effort update/upgrade.

Ericyzfr1
April 18th, 2009, 04:03 PM
I rarely use terminal, if there is a GUI option I ususally go for it. It may not be always efficient, but for the most part it works.
I use terminal mainly for permissions.

sekinto
April 18th, 2009, 04:12 PM
I use the terminal where it is faster:
ex. updating and installing packages

I use GUI apps where they are faster:
ex. web browsing

I haven't been forced to use the terminal for like a year. I can even make detailed changed to Gnome and other apps without the terminal with Gconf Editor.

Paqman
April 18th, 2009, 04:13 PM
There's a few good GUI tools that remove a lot of the need to use the terminal. I like:

startupmanager
pysdm (and/or ntfs-config if you have ntfs partitions)
sbackup
nautilus-gksu

NightwishFan