PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Anybody know how to repackage MintMenu?

har02052
April 18th, 2009, 12:41 PM
I am new to linux and Ubuntu. I tried out LinuxMint and I liked it ok, but I decided to stick with Ubuntu except that I love the LinuxMint MintMenu. I know that I can install it on Ubuntu, which I did, but I don't like that it is "Mint flavored" ie contains MintUpdate, MintInstall, and you have to install MintDesktop, MintUpdate, and MintInstall as dependencies. Post install I was able to change the icon to a standard Gnome icon and changed the MintUpdate and MintInstall shortcuts so that they are now Ubuntu update and Synaptic by manually editing the system_management.py file. (I don't know programing languages, I found someone else that had done it for Fedora and followed their instructions but tweaked them for Ubuntu.) Anyway, how can the program be repacked into a deb file so that it can be installed without the mint dependencies and mint flavor? I just thought others might like to have the menu but Ubuntu flavored.

hesjnet
April 18th, 2009, 05:52 PM
What is it you actually want? A menu like the one in linux mint without having to install the menu from linux mint?

Is it some functionality you are missing or is it because of the apperance. If it is the last, try to look within gnome-look.org (www.gnome-look.org)

Maybe this?
Carbon theme (http://gnome-look.org/content/show.php/Carbon+theme+for+GnoMenu?content=93299)

Where Can I Get The Linux Mint Menu? (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=621000)(ubuntuforums.org)

har02052
April 19th, 2009, 10:25 PM