PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How do I activate booting to an existing partition without re-install?

PatrikG
April 18th, 2009, 07:34 AM
Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie to Ubuntu but I'm really starting to like it so I hope someone can help me out.

Short description of the problem:
- HDD previously used in a dual boot system
- Ubuntu installed on it's own partition
- New computer with only one HDD
- How do I get Ubuntu to boot from the previously installed partition?
- Re-install not a first option

Background:

I used to have a WinXP-only computer, and to try out Ubuntu I installed it on a second harddrive (SATA). I made one partition for Ubuntu and one for music/pictures/etc. Then using GRUB I could switch between XP and Ubuntu. so far no problems.

Problem:
But now I have taken the second harddrive out of the old computer, and put it together with a D945GCL2F motherboard, hoping that it would just boot into Ubuntu, but no such luck...

I have tried using the partition manager and set the partition to "boot" -> no luck. At least it doesn't say that NTLDR is not found anymore.

I (think) I have gotten GRUB installed by doing:

sudo grub
root (hd0,4) (this is the partition where I have the Ubuntu install)
setup (hd0)

The output after the setup says that everything is ok and installed. but it still won't boot. I don't even get a screen saying that GRUB has started, only a one liner about inserting a boot disc.

To re-install is my last resort only due the amount of data I have lying on the other partition, and I only get the option to reformat the entire drive, not to install it to a specific partition, or is that possible?

So, does anyone knows how I can get Ubuntu to boot up from an existing installation?

Feel free to ask if any more information is needed.

pbpersson
April 18th, 2009, 08:02 AM
1. Verify the hard drive is included in the boot order in the BIOS