PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 32-bit vs. 64-bit which one should I use?

arashiko28
April 17th, 2009, 10:44 PM
Actually I don't know where to exactly post this, so here it goes.

I have a Lenovo Ideapad Y530, specs on my signature, and have confirmed that it's a 64-bit arquitecture. Now, I know it's capable of more, I'm very happy with the performance of Ubuntu on it and want to improve my experience, so for the upcoming version, which one should I use?

Taking into account that I'm not an IT, I'm a doctor, so I need a fast and reliable system with the highest compatibility of softwares and ready to use (ehhe, that's Ubuntu :P)

But what are the main differences between both that draws the gasp?
Which one will be more up to my needs?
I only have a week to adapt, so can't be installing and trying, I need help from someone who has tried both versions ;)

That way I can keep enrolling people into Linux world:D

JoePits
April 17th, 2009, 11:40 PM
coming from one who's used both, i would go with 32 bit (using it now). 64 bit has to use a flash plugin wrapper that makes flash stuff slow and buggy.

trlkly
April 18th, 2009, 01:25 AM
I agree. To have the least amount of problems, stick with the 32-bit version. There are just too many times when you have to do something special to get a program to work.

zvacet
April 18th, 2009, 01:32 AM
There is no reason not to use 32-bit if you have less then 4 GB of RAM.If you have 4 or more GB of RAM then 64 can be smart choice even you can manage to run 32-bit with +4 GB of RAM.

Cybie257
April 18th, 2009, 01:46 AM
For a noobie, I would suggest 32-bit myself. I'm using 64-bit, but I know how to do things manually, or find the resources to help me through things I don't already know.

-Cybie

lisati
April 18th, 2009, 01:52 AM
For a noobie, I would suggest 32-bit myself. I'm using 64-bit, but I know how to do things manually, or find the resources to help me through things I don't already know.

-Cybie

Ditto.

oldos2er