PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How Much RAM can Ubuntu support?

Noise...
April 17th, 2009, 09:16 PM
One of the things that greatly bothered me with Vista was the fact that I couldn't use my computer's hardware to it's fullest in terms of RAM. It would cap out at ~3.5GB, rather than using the full 4GB.

Will Ubuntu recognize the full 4GB and make use of it?

MariusLV
April 17th, 2009, 09:27 PM
I am no expert, but I believe you need to download the 64 bit version of Ubuntu (simply tick the "64 bit version" option before downloading from this page ---> http://www.ubuntu.com/getubuntu/download).

This all has to do with how operative systems handle RAM. If you intend to learn, I found an article which seems to explain the phenomenon quite well: http://blogs.msdn.com/hiltonl/archive/2007/04/13/the-3gb-not-4gb-ram-problem.aspx.

Hope this helps you :-)

coffeecat
April 17th, 2009, 09:28 PM
About 3.2 GB, actually. :wink:

For a 32-bit system, here's the explanation (http://www.dansdata.com/askdan00015.htm), so, no, 32-bit Ubuntu will see no more memory than 32-bit Vista.

Unless you use a PAE (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Physical_Address_Extension) enabled kernel. For Ubuntu that would be the server kernel, but you do take a degree of performance hit.

Have you got a 64-bit CPU? If so, install the 64-bit version of Ubuntu which doesn't suffer from the 3.2 or 4GB RAM barrier.

Therion
April 17th, 2009, 09:30 PM
If your processor is 64-bit enabled then you can use a 64-bit edition of Ubuntu that will recognize your 4GB of system RAM.

Retaliation
April 17th, 2009, 09:30 PM
yea, the guy above me is right, you need a 64-bit operating system. You must've had a 32-bit vista installation, which is why you couldn't see all 4 gigs. Just get the 64-bit version and you'll be able to address all your memory.

Noise...
April 17th, 2009, 09:31 PM
Thanks for the info. I thought that might be the case, but figured I'd ask to be sure. :)