PDA

View Full Version : Hi I am new to ubuntoforums and linux

UNME
January 5th, 2006, 08:27 AM
HI ,

HAPPY NeW yEar to all of you,

I am UNME new to this community which I found while searching answer
to my problems(vil talk bit later).
I am engineering student from reputed college in India(i wonder why it is so famous -----y i used to spend so many hours just to b here)

Recently our college shifted from window OS to Linux OS they say it is more
beneficial to students -------till now I was having a feel they were just giving excuse as they cannot pay for proprietry soft-wares

but when i went thru this site I am seeing many happy users
Hey Is Linux really great..?

Next day I went to cannaught place (centre point of our capital Delhi)
and bought few linux books and learntto install RED HAT 9.0-its easy graphicaly

But now my prob starts :
*I have DSL 502T router works nicely with windowsXP(i have drivers)
but not with linux(I could'nt find drivers)--how to connect to inter
net

* what are great sources to learn linux

*How easy was it to find window applications now '.exe' donot go with linux

I know a bit of networking on linux dns,dnhcp....................
I know wine runs .exe but where can I find good software written for linux
I feel to work on system one must have net accesss from it help me to connect to net.(I poked into some thread talking on dsl502t linux??????every
thing went above my head)

PLease Do Respond a
New person knocking a door of linux and this community would'nt u help

UnME--you and me

alamba
January 5th, 2006, 08:31 AM
Welcome to this part of the OS world!! Good to know that you were able to get redhat up and running. What does this have to do with ubuntu though? Here's a tip that might help you:

Search for Delhi LUG on google and join their mailing list. Just yesterday I read a thread on this specific router model. I believe the answer lies in using the ethernet interface rather than the USB interface.