PDA

View Full Version : Choosing a Netbook Linux Distro

Dorzu
April 16th, 2009, 06:04 PM
I recently purchased an Asus 1000HE and am trying to decide which Linux distro to install on it. I'll be using the netbook for _light_ C++ & Python development(think school and fun projects), the common netbook tasks, and probably some remote access work to home via ssh/scp/etc. I've done some preliminary searches, using Ubuntu(current desktop distribution) as my starting point. I've found UNR, Easy Peasy, and EEEbuntu. (I can't really decipher how any one is even slightly "better" than the other two.)

Question is: Do you have a recommendation for the distibution? Should I try a netbook-centric Ubuntu mix? Take the plunge to Debian for something stable?

lswartz
April 16th, 2009, 09:52 PM
I'm a bit of a noob with Linux & there are others here that have a lot more experience. With that in mind;

I like the Ubuntu 8.04 on my Dell Mini 9 but for you, there is more HD space available. I would be looking at 9.04 which is about to be released this month - 27th I think.

MysticGold04
April 16th, 2009, 09:54 PM
I had an Asus Eee 1000HA and ran Ubuntu 8.10 with the adams kernel from kernel.org to get the wireless and all that stuff working. Ran great.

I'd wait for 9.04 to hit and then use that. Many fixes and updates for wireless and netbook type pc's.

JECHO
April 16th, 2009, 11:28 PM
I recently purchased an Asus 1000HE and am trying to decide which Linux distro to install on it. I'll be using the netbook for _light_ C++ & Python development(think school and fun projects), the common netbook tasks, and probably some remote access work to home via ssh/scp/etc. I've done some preliminary searches, using Ubuntu(current desktop distribution) as my starting point. I've found UNR, Easy Peasy, and EEEbuntu. (I can't really decipher how any one is even slightly "better" than the other two.)