PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] What would be the right way to install Ubuntu?

willpower232
April 16th, 2009, 01:14 PM
I have been using Ubuntu since 2006 and am quite comfortable setting it up the way I want it.

Currently I only have Ubuntu servers so I always download the Server install CD and then install the Gnome desktop on top via aptitude.

Downloading the ubuntu-desktop package for this purpose is very time and bandwidth consuming because of everything else that gets downloaded and installed as well.

With Jaunty just around the corner, I am also looking to use a couple of Ubuntu desktops in combination with the servers.

So I was thinking that it might be simpler to download the Desktop install CD and then swap the kernel to the server version on the computers I want to be servers.

Ubuntuforums has gotten me out of a lot of holes before but I can only find mentions of the ability to swap kernels.

So can one of you bright sparks out there help out? Is there a better way of doing things or am I chasing one big pipe dream?

Thanking you muchly

StuartN
April 16th, 2009, 01:43 PM
You could download everything you need to the server and then set the server as your proxy web server on the other machines, so at least all the bandwidth would be local from the server's package cache.

willpower232
April 17th, 2009, 09:24 AM
I could but I wouldn't have the foggiest idea how to do that. Also that would require a lot of messing around that I would probably undo when my install-fest was over.

Unless I'm mistaken of course?

StuartN
April 17th, 2009, 10:14 AM
Also that would require a lot of messing around that I would probably undo when my install-fest was over.