PDA

View Full Version : Hearing lots of positives about Ubuntu 9.04

ade234uk
April 16th, 2009, 10:19 AM
It's good to hear a lot of positives about Ubuntu 9.04. Looking forward to installing this.

I have been using Ubuntu for about 5 months now, dual boot with Windows. I have not used Windows on this machine for about 2 months now. No need.

I only have 6 days left to wait, then my machine becomes Ubuntu only. Windows is gonna get obliterated.

Can you recommend a good partition scheme or should I just go for Ubuntu says?

mkrahmeh
April 16th, 2009, 10:25 AM
9.04 is gr8..lot of updates so far
you may go with what ubuntu says for a partitioning setting, but aren't u interested in trying windows 7 ?
:)

tadcan
April 16th, 2009, 10:27 AM
I have been using 9.04 for the past fe days and I like it.

You have a number of choices. The first is to choose to use Ext3 or Ext4. Ext3 is the safe file system that has been used up to now. Ext4 is the new file system that is faster but a tiny number of people have had data loss. I picked Ext4 and the boot time is faster then in 8.10.

The standard Ubuntu install will give you two partitions. One root or (/) partition and one swap partition. You can chose to make a home (/home) partition. This means when you upgrade to a new version you just upgrade the root partition and your data on the home partition stays safe. Backing up is still recommended.

Those are the main options you can go for.

ade234uk
April 16th, 2009, 10:31 AM
9.04 is gr8..lot of updates so far
you may go with what ubuntu says for a partitioning setting, but aren't u interested in trying windows 7 ?
:)

I'm afriad of trying Windows 7, just in case I like it. To be honest I have got used to Ubuntu on my machine, anything else seems a bit crappy to me.

I know they say Windows 7 is good, but what's new compared to the new version of Ubuntu?

tadcan
April 16th, 2009, 10:35 AM