PDA

View Full Version : [other] I need some help getting Openbox up and running.

Jordan777
April 16th, 2009, 05:31 AM
So I've installed openbox and I want to use it just by itself. I've installed thunar and the pypanel but here is the thing, I'm still really new to this sort of task. I just use ubuntu with gnome so I'm not familiar with how to get other things like this up and running. I can start an openbox session just fine but I don't know how to add links to things like applications, places and system in gnome or just programs in general. I don't need everything but it would be useful to create a drop down menu (or up) for those things in the right-click menu. And also when I start openbox it's truly bare bones (as it is supposed to be). But I want some things to autostart like pypanel, thunar and just basic elements like my wireless internet. I realize this is a lot to ask for help on but any help is really appreciated! ;)

Ace1989
June 3rd, 2009, 06:23 PM
I would like some help with this too! I just installed the openbox packages, and I need to get internet working. It works just fine in Gnome, I don't even have to enable a propitiatory driver...

Locutus_of_Borg
June 3rd, 2009, 07:55 PM
openbox, yay

the file to put all your autostart applications in is:

~/.config/openbox/autostart.sh
jut put each application on its own line and end each line with a &

i use pypanel as well, and i have found that i have to delay it a few seconds to wait for X to fully load up otherwise pypanel does not start, to do this just make the line for pypanel look something like:

(sleep 2 && pypanel)&
some other apps i like to have start up are
thunar --daemon (for automounting drives and disks)
feh --bg-scale ~/background.png (for giving me a desktop background image)
and
xcompmgr (for some compositing effects)

for your wireless, i highly recommend wicd