PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] X changed virtual terminal to number 9 instead of 7??

except
April 16th, 2009, 12:50 AM
I'm new to Ubuntu, I just installed version 8.10, and did a few fun things like activate compiz fusion and desklets and whatnot.
I have a Samsung X460 laptop and the brightness control of the screen doesn't work, so I downloaded this little script that does it by writing directly to the LCD driver (or something). This used to work brilliantly.

The script looks like this:

#!/bin/bash
gksu chvt 2
echo 60 |sudo tee /proc/acpi/video/NVID/LCD/brightness
sudo chvt 7

As said, this worked okay for 5 days or so. However ever since today (I don't know what was changed), it doesn't come up with the screen anymore and I have to switch to terminal 9 instead of 7. How do I change X back to running on terminal 7 instead of 9... as this is kind of weird.

Thanks!

PacSci
April 16th, 2009, 02:48 AM
A better question is, why do you need to change TTYs to activate this? Theoretically, you could replace the same script with just:

#!/bin/sh
if [ "$1" ]; then
BRIGHT=$1
else
BRIGHT=60
fi
echo $BRIGHT | sudo tee /proc/acpi/video/NVID/LCD/brightness

Using "gksu" to change terminals just to run a command is redundant. (This script also has the advantage that if you run it as "sh brightness.sh 100", you can change it to 100 instead of 60.)

Of course, this still might not work. But based on what the command looks like, I'd say that there's a pretty good chance.

except
April 16th, 2009, 01:49 PM
Hi Pacsci,