PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Need some processor help!



SaintStewart
April 15th, 2009, 09:53 PM
Hey guys (and gals). I am currently using an Acer Aspire 5515 (info is here (http://us.acer.com/acer/productv.do?link=oln15e.redirect&changedAlts=&CRC=1511809838), and I found out after some diggign it uses a desktop AMD Athlon 2650e, a desktop processor. I also found out that it uses Socket AM2 (and is AM2+ compatible). I was wanting to upgrade this to a dual-core, and have found some at Newegg that might fit, but would like your opinions.

Tell me if I am crazy (probably) for wanting to put something else in, or if it won't even work on technical merits. The technical is what I am looking for. I've already upgraded to the max 4GB RAM in here, just want a better processor.

So far, the ones I am looking at are here (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103672), here (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103300), or even here (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103254). Yeah, that last one is a tri-core. :lolflag:

Anyhow, Im only really interested in the first two, but might go for the last one if it would technically work.

Thanks in advance, hope I get some answers.

cariboo
April 15th, 2009, 10:08 PM
Before you start looking for a new cpu, see if you can find the model number of your motherboard, and check to see what cpu's it supports.

Jim

Bakon Jarser
April 15th, 2009, 10:09 PM
Wait this is a notebooK? I think you might run into some problems with cooling. Your not going to be able to fit a full sized heatsink and fan in there. If it is using a desktop processor then I'm guessing they have it underclocked to avoid overheating. You may need to do more research on this.

SaintStewart
April 15th, 2009, 10:25 PM
*sigh* I'm not a total computer idiot. Im certified in a few fields, I was just wondering if anyone would happen to be able to give a quick answer.

All Im worried about is *will the processor work*. I know the heatsink and fan wont fit. If you would click the links you would see they are the same socket as the processor inside already. Leave the cooling to me. All I want to know is if you guys agree/disagree that the processor will work upon insertion.

Bakon Jarser
April 15th, 2009, 10:37 PM
Well you asked if they would work and if they overheat they won't work so I thought I'd point it out. AM2 and AM2+ are standards. AFAIK if it says it works with AM2 processors then it works with all AM2 processors and if it says it works with AM2+ then it works with all AM2 and all AM2+ processors.

SaintStewart
April 15th, 2009, 11:07 PM
Thanks! :)

Barry Carroll
April 15th, 2009, 11:21 PM
AFAIK, your laptop's BIOS will have to include the ability to recognise those other CPUs ID codes first of all.

Secondly it seems like your 2650e has a TDP of 15W, so it may be a desktop socket processor but it is an energy efficient one. The first CPU you linked to has a TDP of 45W and the others were 90W.

So the sockets may be physically compatible, but your laptop probably wouldn't have adequate cooling or perhaps even the right amount of voltage range to drive those other CPUs.

Edit: some people on the net seem to have success with some CPUs rated at 45W, so there might be hope yet!
http://forums.cnet.com/5208-7587_102-0.html?threadID=329428