PDA

View Full Version : IT professionals considering move away from windows

xir_
April 14th, 2009, 01:28 PM
So looks like ubuntu could do well according to this

http://news.cnet.com/8301-10805_3-10217917-75.html

samjh
April 14th, 2009, 01:53 PM
There is always a lot of pessimism about new Windows releases. We saw a lot more negativity toward Vista than Windows 7. I don't think the article shows anything earth-shattering. Linux has long been gaining steam. It's just a continuation of a slow but steady trend.

will1911a1
April 14th, 2009, 01:55 PM
I'll believe it when it happens.

davetv
April 14th, 2009, 03:00 PM
I'm a "I.T. Professional". I work as a programmer for a company that writes software for a niche market. I have been a full time programmer for nearly 20 yrs.

Our customers govern our direction, and our application platform, not our whims. 100% of our customers use and will continue to use Windows based PC's.

While I would love to see Ubuntu and other Linux distro's share in the desktop market place, the reality is that it is many many years away.

EvilMarshmallow
April 14th, 2009, 03:40 PM
To counter DaveTV's argument, I'm an IT Professional too. I'm a network/system admin for a company that's completely not in the software development industry. Dave's right about his business catering to the whims of its customers... but I don't have that limitation, and this is where you'll see Linux making major headway.

In the last two years, I've gone from 0% linux servers in my data center (my predecessor didn't want to touch Linux at all) to about 75%. I also have plans to increase that penetration by migrating even more systems over... I just haven't had the time to do it yet.