PDA

View Full Version : Java, Eclipse, and the Devil (Need help :S)

Geistanon
April 14th, 2009, 05:33 AM
Now, just a preface: I am not a programmer per se. My knowledge (although expanding rapidly since I installed Ubuntu) is still limited. That said, let me get on to my issue...

I'm on Ubuntu 8.10.

I have been running Java scripts for some time now. In order to do these scripts, I had to run the 'make' command to compile them, then run the program through the shell 'sh ./{name}'.

I have Java JRE and JDK updated to the most recent build.

What I could not do, however, was compile new scripts. I was told that I was to save the code, via a text editor, as a .java, then use 'make' to compile. I found numerous issues with this -- the first being that new scripts were not compiling. Then I found that the environment variables for Java were not set -- JAVA_HOME and CLASSPATH. Setting these changed nothing.

All through this, my program continued to run.

I found reference to the program Eclipse being able to help with compiling new programs. I installed it and IMMEDIATELY AFTER DOING SO, all of the aforementioned commands produce mass errors (around 290), most of which are along the lines of:

Syntax error, type parameters are only available if source level is 5.0

Uninstalling Eclipse changed nothing. Changing the compliance level in Eclipse to 6.0 (the current version of Java) did nothing. Using 'sudo aptitude reinstall make' did nothing.

How can I fix this?

tinny
April 14th, 2009, 05:59 AM
Eclipse is an IDE http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Integrated_development_environment

Therefore all (well most) tasks that you undertake as a programmer can be executed from within this environment.

Have you tried compiling and running your code from within Eclipse?

Also you should have your code within an eclipse project

E.g.

File > New > Java Project

Then select "Create project from existing source"

tinny
April 14th, 2009, 06:01 AM
This may be of interest to you