PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing 9.04 over 8.10?

CheesyD
April 14th, 2009, 02:49 AM
I have an old desktop that had XP and Ubuntu 8.10 on it. I wanted to upgrade the 8.10 to the 9.04 Beta. I tried the upgrade command but it didn't work so I figured I'd just do a full install over 8.10. When I get to the partition choice section (yes, I'm a linux noob), I wanted to keep XP while installing 9.04 in the same space currently occupied by 8.10. It wouldn't let me do that. It wanted to keep XP, 8.10, and then install 9.04 in its own space. I went to the "advanced" section but didn't know what the heck I was doing there. I finally just told it to use the entire disk for 9.04, and it installed just fine.

I also have a laptop which is my main PC. It also has XP and 8.10 on it. I really want to keep a dual boot on the laptop, with XP and ultimately 9.04. How the heck do I get 9.04 to install over 8.10? I don't want XP, 8.10, and 9.04. Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

If this should have been posted in the beginner section, my apologies.

whoop
April 14th, 2009, 02:53 AM
Did you try:
Alt+F2 and then update-manager -d
?

Ericyzfr1
April 14th, 2009, 02:55 AM
I have an old desktop that had XP and Ubuntu 8.10 on it. I wanted to upgrade the 8.10 to the 9.04 Beta. I tried the upgrade command but it didn't work so I figured I'd just do a full install over 8.10. When I get to the partition choice section (yes, I'm a linux noob), I wanted to keep XP while installing 9.04 in the same space currently occupied by 8.10. It wouldn't let me do that. It wanted to keep XP, 8.10, and then install 9.04 in its own space. I went to the "advanced" section but didn't know what the heck I was doing there. I finally just told it to use the entire disk for 9.04, and it installed just fine.