PDA

View Full Version : improving the end user experience

fuscia
January 4th, 2006, 03:32 PM
if most end users are like me, there's going to be at least one apparently huge stumbling block in the way of getting to use linux (for me, it was getting my usb wireless adapter going). as evidenced by these forums, there is no shortage of help, in fact, there's an embarassing abundance of help. the problem with this help is that nearly every helper has too much respect for those they are helping. the people who provide support for windows, know enough to treat their little charges like idiotic dirt, which is surprisingly helpful.

as a teacher, i'm am forever having to remember what it was like to be clueless and fearful of the unknown. it is easy to look back at all the steps i took to get wherever i am and to remember how often an accidental discovery gave me a foot in the door to learning something about what i was trying to do. what is hard for me is to guess where the beginner stands. i don't think i have found anyone who is standing in the same place i once was. what may have been an "aha!" moment for me, might be a "so what?" moment for them. conversly, something that might have always been painfully obvious to me, might be a revelation to them. additionally, there are lots of little things we have all learned that have become so second nature, we have forgotten we ever even learned them. it's easy to remember the significant pieces of acquired knowledge while it is easy to forget all the little acquired details that make up more of our understanding than we often appreciate.