PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] ATI Drivers Install

paradroid90
April 13th, 2009, 12:27 PM
Hi Guys and Girls.

Having Problems with Ubuntu 8.10. Installed yesterday and complete Newbie to Linux but had a problem installing ATI Card Drivers

Games like Open Arena,Scorched 3D,Nexiuz etc worked fine under the open source drivers but games like Free droid 3d and glest were glitchy as hell.

Then Installed the ATI Drivers via Hardware Updates and games lock up on the menu screens. But Freedroid and Glest run fine.

Already read on the forums that that ATI Drivers from AMD website are not the way to go.

Advice on this subect would be appricated.:p

silentrebel
April 13th, 2009, 08:22 PM
I do not have the command with me now but I remember something along the lines of this:

sudo apt-get install envyng-gtk

This should help you find the best ATI driver for your card, in most cases. Just choose the ATI option. Then choose the driver that is compatible and recommended. If such a driver is not suggested, you'll have to risk using one of the other offered drivers. If I find any other useful information, I'll let you know. Keep me posted.
Good luck.

paradroid90
April 13th, 2009, 10:02 PM
Hi,

Thanks for your response and i used your command line in terminal as instructed. Which worked and updated. But i still get glitches when running games like track balls for some reason. Have downloaded the lastest drivers from AMD site now and from what i have read in the forums so far that these drivers are the best to use. Bit baffled as im a newbie at Linux what the docs are refering to?????

If any one could help that would be great. Its listing the following

To install the ATI Proprietary Linux driver using the Automatic option, follow
these steps:
1 Launch the Terminal Application/Window and navigate to the ATI Propri-
etary Linux driver download.
2 Enter the command sh ./ati-driver-installer-9.2-x86.x86_64.run to launch the
ATI Proprietary Linux driver installer.